Girls Night Recipe Round Up

Hi friends!

Y’all know that one of my September challenges was to cook (not bake) 2 new recipes. I was wondering when I was going to get around to it, and I did this past weekend. 2 friends of mine, M & L and I have started a monthly girls night. We rotate between our houses, and have a great time one Friday night a month. This month was at my house, so I used the oppourtunity to cook!

I made Eat, Live, Run’s Shrimp Enchilada’s Verde and Hungry Girl’s Enchilada Soup. Yeah, it was a little heavy on the enchilada’s, but it went well. And the girls brought over queso, salsa and quacamole to round out our mexican theme.

I cannot say enough good things about this soup. Simple, easy, and was just as good without the chicken.

It’s made with pumpkin, which gives it a nice creaminess. It’s also super easy. Chop onion and celery, boil broth (I used veggie to make it vegeterian) then add in enchilada sauce and pumpkin, some corn, then I let it simmer until we were ready to eat. And it made a ton. I’ve frozen some for when I’m craving soup as the weather cools down.

Now to the superstar of the night. These enchiladas were to die for. And SUPER easy, I read Jenna @ Eat Live Run’s recipes and think that they look easy, well, this one was as easy as it looked, but tasted like a ton of time, and fanciness went into it. Did I mention it was delish?

Add in shrimp, sour cream, spices stir and your filling is ready. And it goes from above to this in 30 minutes.

My pan held 9 enchiladas, so I still had 1/2 the filling left over. Popped it into the freezer so I can have some later on. Yum!

Did you try any new recipes this month?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Girls Night Recipe Round Up

  1. Pingback: October Goals & September Recap | i heart kiwis

Leave a Reply

