Review: Black Swan

This past weekend, I treated myself to a movie. Around this time every year, I try to see all the Oscar nominated movies. Try being the operative word. So I hit up the first showing Sunday afternoon, cause it’s only $5… sounded like a good deal to me.

All I knew about this movie was that it had something to do with Swan Lake (which I’ve never seen), ballet, and Natalie Portman won the Golden Globe and is nominated for an Oscar for best actress.

I believe in not reading too much stuff about movies, it’s better to go in with an open mind and see where the movie takes you, but wowza. I wish I’d been a bit more prepared for this movie.

I mean, I’m not sure I have words to describe it, and it’s been 4 days. It was dark, much darker than I expected. But (and I haven’t seen all the other actress’s performances) I believe Natalie deserves the Oscar.

SPOILER ALERT (if you haven’t seen it):

The movie follows Nina (Portman) as the good girl ballerina who still live at home with her mother, in her struggle and downward spiral to dance the white AND black swans in her ballet company’s production of Swan Lake.

This is a psychological thriller, that’s the best I can describe it. We are taken through the movie from Nina’s point of view, with all the hallucinations and crazy red eyes that go along with it.

This is not a feel good “dance” flick. And that’s why it’s nominated for Best Picture. Not sure it’ll win, I’m going to try and see True Grit this weekend, and as of now I think Inception will win, but it deserves it’s nomination.

END SPOILER ALERT:

Oh, and as I was sitting in my seat watching, my cell phone fell out of my pocket… I figured I’d just pick it up when the movie was over, there weren’t that many people in the theatre… the movie ends, and I look down, and no phone. Excuse me? I crawled on the movie theatre floor, with a flash light looking for it (never been more thankful for the first matinee of the day). It took 3 theatre employees to find it, as it had somehow fallen inside the arm of the seat, and couldn’t be seen with the flashlight, cause I’d looked. Oh, and of course it was on silent as I was in the movie.

Have you seen Black Swan? Do you want to? Do you think Natalie will win the Oscar?

This entry was posted in reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

