kk’s roasted veggies with couscous

Hi friends! Hope you are having a good weekend. One of my new years goals is to be more creative in the kitchen. So while I can’t take credit for the entire recipe, I was proud of myself for adding spices to it.

First off, KK is my friend down in Austin. She is one of the best cooks I know, and she and L are always letting me try their new kitchen creations, for which I am extremley grateful for, as I’m not nearly as creative in the kitchen as they are.

KK came up here last weekend and showed me how to make roasted veggies. She cuts up purple onion, red and green bell peppers, yellow squash and zuchinni. She also adds a clove of garlic, Mrs. Dash’s Table Blend spices, red pepper flakes and a cajun seasoning. All of this is drizzled with olive oil and stuck on a cookie sheet and into the oven at 400 F for roughly 10-15 minutes.

First cut up all your veggies. This is 1 purple onion, 1 red bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper, 1/2 squash and 1/2 zuchinni.

Next drizzle with olive oil so all veggies are covered, and add your spices. I left my cajun seasoning at work, so I used cumin, paprika, and chili powder in addition to the Mrs. Dash Table Blend and red pepper flakes.

Next put into the 400 F oven. Check at 10 minutes… mine took 15 until the onion was as tender as I like it. While the veggies are roasting, I boiled some water to make the couscous. Once the water is boiling, add the couscous, cover and take off heat. In 5 minutes the couscous is ready.

I put 1/2 a cup couscous into a bowl, topped with the grilled veg and added 1 wedge of Laughing Cow cheese. This was the best meal ever. And since the couscous has 8 grams of protein per cup, it’s very filling.

Finished and ready for eating!!!

Have you ever had couscous? Did you like it? I hear it can be a good breakfast, with cinnamon, might try that soon.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

