twinkie diet

Have you read this article about the college professor who ate a diet of 1800 calories per day and lost 27 lbs in 2 months? Sounds awesome, yes?

But it’s what he consumed for those 1800 calories that has caused a controversy.

He ate doritos, twinkies and diet mountain dew. Now, he did have some veggies, which he ate in front of his kids, and a protein shake everyday, but he shied away from meat, grains and fruit due to it’s high calorie content.

A friend and I were discussing this and she made a fantastic point.

“If I ate snacks all day I would be STARVING and miserable. No matter how much I enjoyed the snack cake. I can’t eat twinkies for breakfast and be full.” – kk

And this is true. Healthy eating is finding a way to eat that will satisfy your cravings, your wants, keeps you full enough so you can concentrate on living your life, and gives you enough energy to make it through your day. And energy doesn’t come from sugar.

And really, don’t you think you’d get tired of eating snack cakes all day, every day? I mean it sounds great, eat whatever you want, keep it under a certain daily amount of calories and loose weight. But I think once the newness wore off we’d all be miserable. Or I hope we would.

I know I’d miss orange roughy, and strawberries, and almond butter, and taco salads, and meatloaf. All the good food that tastes so good, and makes me feel good knowing I made a healthy choice.

Not to mention that we still don’t know all of the ramifications of future health issues from the lack of fresh fruit/veggies, protein and extra sugar. I’m more willing to stick with a 90% clean diet and have an occasional treat, and I for one think we should keep them that way.

This entry was posted in Health, twinkie, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to twinkie diet

  1. Pingback: the workout doesn’t matter |

Leave a Reply

