if it can go bad, it’s good for you

Reading an article on Shine.yahoo.com this morning, and I came across a list of 15 shocking food industry secrets. #10 is something I have been slowly realizing these past few weeks.

10. Junk food is like a drug. A study in the journal of Nature Neuroscience
found that eating junk food doesn’t just satisfy cravings—it creates them.
That’s right; junk food is addictive.
That’s why manufacturers load their foods with sugar, salt,
and artificial flavorings, and why you should never forget the golden rule:
If your food can go bad, it’s good for you. If it can’t go bad, it’s bad for you.

 

Since I’ve cut out carbs and extra sugar, I’ve been eating at home and reading food labels. Which means I’m not eating junk food, I’m not stopping at the office candy jar, and I haven’t even been craving junk food either. Now I may be craving some potato salad (thanks to the vendor who catered in Red Hot & Blue yesterday) but not “junk food”.

I also found a new motto: If your food can go bad it’s good for you. If it can’t go bad, it’s bad for you. It works a lot better than my step-dad’s “if it tastes good, spit it out.” Because food that can go bad can taste good. So you have a lot more options with this motto.

So, update on the no sugar/carbs. This really cleanses the palate. The first week I had no cravings. Pretty sure that was because I was so focused on the newness of it. I knew what I needed to eat, and I ate it… and drank a ton of water. And you know what? Strawberries and apples are enough sweetness for me now. I never understood how people could satisfy their sweet tooth with fruit. I mean I would try it, but I’d still want that piece of chocolate. But I get it now. You have to have not had sugar for long enough to truly get to the place where you can enjoy the natural sugars in the fruit. I’m almost afraid to try chocolate now, for for fear of it being too sweet, or ruining the fruit sweetness I’ve discovered.

In scarier yet somewhat facinatig news… Harvard and MIT researchers have predicted that in the next 40 years, 42% of adults will be obese. They used a model in which obesity spread like an infectious disease. According to this article, currenlty 34% of adults are obese with another 34% being overweight but not yet obese. Technically I still fit into this category. My BMI is in the overweight category, and honestly articles like this just make me want to work harder to be not in that category.

Granted, I do not know the cause of obesity and I don’t want to start that debate. But I do believe that no matter what size we currently are, we can make good food choices, that will benefit our bodies. We can choose an apple over twinkies. Or baked fish over a chicken fried steak. And we can also choose to indulge in these things. The key is to choose wisely and be mindful that everything we put into our bodies has an effect.

And that helps motivate me to continue my no non-natural occuring sugars and limiting carbs November plan.

This entry was posted in goals, Health, no sugar, november challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

