let’s GO y’all!

I know I just posted about motivation, and how sometimes you just have to do your workout even when you’re lacking in the motivation department. Well, yesterday I was lacking, and I didn’t “just do it”. I rode on my stationary bike for 30 minutes and called it a day. Sometimes you need to push yourself, and sometimes you just need a break. It can be hard to tell which you need to do as well.

I figured I’ve been working out 6-ish days a week while doing the Insanity program, I’ve been eating right, so I deserve a little break. So I took an active break. I still did something physical, just not as physical or insane as usual. And you know what? I didn’t feel one bit of guilt for doing it. That right there, the lack of guilt, tells me that I really did need a break.

And today, I’m back and ready to be insane in the face again.

I’ve had plenty of days where I haven’t felt like working out, and so I’ll sit on the couch, know what happens? Those guilty feelings start creeping in… and it might be 8:00 pm, but I’ll get up and do some sort of DVD or go for a run. Those are the days when you need to push yourself. As you continue on your life journey, you’ll get better at telling the difference between the needing to push yourself and giving yourself a break.

Breaks are not bad things. They are needed so you can get stronger/faster/fitter. Just be sure you are pushing yourself when you really need to as well.

And you know what? I’m sitting on the couch still sweating my face off, my arms and face are still red from working out, and I’m so exhausted in good way. That’s the other thing about breaks, they save you from that bad workout, the one that is deflating and sucks the motivation out of you and lets you come back fresh and ready to work that much harder.

october challenge: 3214/10000

This entry was posted in challenge, Insanity, october challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

