new finds

Good evening. Hope you had a good day. I took 1/2 a day vacation, and had my hair done. I enjoyed my afternoon off, but I forgot how much sitting in a chair for 2 1/2 hours wears me out.

I started out the day with an Insane sweaty workout, then had a green giant before heading to work. After a full 1/2 day on the phone, I came home and enjoyed L’s home made shrimp fried rice. It was so good and flavorful, although the rice didn’t keep me full for very long… so I had a banana. I took a zonebar with me to the hair appointment, and it was a nice afternoon snack.

Today made reminded me how eating foods that have high protein and/or fiber contacts keep your stomach happy and feeling fuller longer. Chosing whole, non-processed foods is good as well.

Weight Watchers calls these “filling foods,” and the name is very fitting. Filling foods are foods that fill you up without a lot of calories. Fruits/vegetables, lean proteins, low fat dairy are all filling foods.

So with that in mind, I tried the Morningstar Chik Patties. 14 minutes in the oven, and out it came. The flavor is amazing. It’s slightly breaded, with a little kick. Not too spicy, but much more flavorful than just regular breaded chicken (note, this is a chicken substitue with 140 calories and 8 grams of protein). The patty and carrots aren’t all fancy looking, but they’re full of nutrients and I’m still satisfied more than an hour later.

Sometimes I just need to be reminded that for the same amount (or less) of calories you can eat  something that will satisfy you for a few minutes, or for a few hours. I’ll choose the few hours, cause in the long run, you’ll end up eating less calories.

This entry was posted in General, Health, Menu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

