bon jovi & insanity

What’s the cure for a bad day? Rocking out to Bon Jovi in the car with the windows down on the way home, and a bit of insanity.

I’ve toned down the exercise lately, as I was diagnosed with plantar faciatis. But the dr gave me a shot, and it’s tons better… so what did I do? I got insane.

Have y’all seen Insanity? I happened to catch the infomercial one morning as I was lying in bed waiting until the last minute I had to get up and get ready for work. I instantly fell in love. I talked the boyfriend into getting it for me, and I’m hooked. It’s the hardest, awesomest, most insane workout ever. It’s hard core interval training. And Shaun T, the guy who is yelling at you and telling you what to do, is doing it right along with you, and telling you to take a break if you need WHILE he is taking a break. That’s the best part about the video. It’s not all pretty, shiny, women telling you what to do without breaking a sweat. Shaun T is working out with you, and not pronouncing the “t” in important. (Imporant.)

So, after having a green monster for breakfast (frozen mango is a lovely addition, but frozen blueberries are still my favorite), and left over Olive Garden soup for lunch, and getting stuck on the phone with Tennessee for the rest of the afternoon, and leaving work an hour late, I knew I needed something to lift my mood.

Yes, the couch and comfy pants were calling my name, but did I listen? Nope (or at least not yet). I rolled the windows down in the car, turned on the cd player, where Bon Jovi is usually in residence, turned it up loud, and sang along. When I got home, before I even sat down, I put on work out clothes, laced up my pretty new Asics, and got to sweating with Shaun T.

Now I’ve burned 400 calories, and am in a much better mood. I have yet to find a downside to exercise. I may not want to do it everyday, but I never regret breaking a sweat. In fact, I always feel better after I’ve done something good for myself.

Part of it is the endorphins, part of it is knowing it’s over, and part of it is knowing that you pushed yourself to do something good for yourself. Cause that’s what exercise is: it’s your selfish time. Meals are almost always better when shared with good friends or family. TV is mindless entertainment. But exercise is something you do for YOU. Plus it makes you jiggle less!

Now I’m off for my date with the shower, the comfy pants and the couch.

p.s. special iheartkiwis thanks to the boyfriend for teaching me how to make the links work properly. I had a moment.

This entry was posted in Health, Insanity, Workout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

